Skip To Main Content

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA)

Every Student Succeeds Act

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) replaces No Child Left Behind (NCLB) and reauthorizes the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) of 1965.  ESSA was designed to ensure that all students have equitable access to high-quality educational resources and opportunities, as well as to close educational achievement gaps. The act, then and now, sets forth requirements that states and school districts must follow to qualify for funds.

Formula grants under ESEA that affect the Hawthorne Public Schools are primarily governed by:

  • Title I, Part A - Improving Basic Programs Operated by Local Educational Agencies;
  • Title II, Part A - Supporting Effective Instruction;
  • Title III, Part A - English Language Acquisition, Language Enhancement and Academic Achievement; and
  • Title IV, Part A - Student Support and Academic Enrichment Grants (newly reauthorized under ESSA).


Title 1 Schools

Washington Elementary School - Schoolwide  Title 1 Assistance

Roosevelt Elementary School - Targeted Title 1 Assistance

Lincoln Middle School - Targeted Title 1 Assistance